What are Hair Mitts™?

03/11/2018

After nearly a decade of using only water and a hand towel to clean my hair, I began reading concerns that terrycloth towels may damage hair. Many online resources recommend using microfiber or cotton knit t-shirt fabric for drying hair instead of traditional terrycloth towels.

I tried using microfiber on my hair and hated it. I don't like the feel of microfiber, and I don't like contributing to the poisoning of the planet with non-biodegradable fibers.

I grew curious about the origin of this philosophy; after all, what do salon professionals wrap their clients' hair with after they've shampooed it?

Terrycloth towels.

And most of us have spent a lifetime wrapping our hair with terrycloth towels when we step out of the shower and haven't noticed our hair being the worse for wear.

My personal research traced the myth of microfiber being best for hair to...wait for it...the manufacturers of microfiber hair towels!

But it got me thinking...

Two legitimate concerns about using terrycloth towels on hair are:

1) a heavy towel wrapped around wet hair can pull and break hair, and

2) the rougher texture of terrycloth could potentially damage hair

I began experimenting with other natural woven fibers, namely cotton flannel, silk, and wool; all smooth, absorbent, biodegradable fabrics.

I also realized that using mitts designed specifically for this method would be easier, and more fun, than using a towel or two washcloths.

And so, Hair Mitts™ and the Hair Mitts™ Towel were created to fill the void and enhance the Water and Towel Only, aka Hair Mitts Method!

While Hair Mitts are not necessary in order to have success with my hair washing method, they make the process easier and much more enjoyable. They're also safer than rough, heavy terrycloth towels and far more effective than microfiber or an old cotton T shirt. Visit my Hair Mitts store to get a good look at the selection.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started