How to Care for Your Hair Mitts™ and Hair Towels

02/03/2018

Over the time that I've used my Hair Mitts and Hair Mitts Hair Towel, I've been pleased to find they do not require laundering after each use.

In fact, I've found I need to set a reminder on my calendar to remind myself to wash them. For me, washing my Hair Mitts and towel quarterly seems to do the job, and even then, I'm pretty sure I could go even longer in between washes.

This is where your personal observations will come in handy: How frequently do you need to clean your hair? If it's daily, you may need to wash your mitts and towels more frequently. The best way to tell when your mitts need laundering is when they aren't as efficient at cleaning your hair.

The fabric of your mitts makes a difference, too. If your mitts are wool, you'll likely be able to go longer in between laundering days, because wool is naturally antimicrobial. Since wool mitts need to be hand washed, or at least washed in cool water on the gentle cycle in your washing machine, and they must be hung to dry, that antimicrobial property is an added boon!

Silk mitts also fare best when hand washed, and must be hung to dry. 

Cotton mitts are the easiest to care for and can be tossed in the washer in cool water with like colors, and then tumble dried on "Low." Of course, they will last longer if they are hand washed and hung to dry. That said, cotton, lacking the natural antimicrobial properties of wool, may require more frequent laundering.

For hand washing your mitts and towels, use cool water and mild, toxinless detergent such as my Homemade Dish Washing Liquid. Refrain from scrubbing and twisting; simply soak the mitts and towels in a sink of cool, sudsy water, gently agitate the water, then rinse thoroughly and squeeze water out of the fabric. Place mitts or towels between terrycloth towels to squeeze out excess water before hanging to dry.



Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started